RSS

Making a Better Question Worse

02 May

I recently read a post on betterQs from @srcav with an area question from Brilliant that I added to today’s opener.

2016-04-27-19-50-36.png

I knew something was up when I saw my students’ results.

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 9.07.52 AM.png

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 9.07.58 AM.png

My mistyping was a good reminder of the importance of nouns.

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 9.09.11 AM.png

Without showing any results, I sent the corrected question as a Quick Poll.

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 4.12.31 PM.png

(I wonder whether the way the first question was asked prompted the misconception in the wrong answer, but I won’t find out until I have another group of students.)

We are learning to look for and make use of structure.

We are learning to contemplate, then calculate.

And we are learning how to ask better questions, as the journey continues …

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Making a Better Question Worse

  1. Shelita McCadney Brown

    May 4, 2016 at 12:47 pm

    Wow! What a difference in the students’ results.

     

Leave a Reply

 
