RSS

Reflected Triangles + #ShowYourWork

08 Sep

I’ve used the Illustrative Mathematics task Reflected Triangles for several years now. This year students practiced “Show Your Work” (from Jill Gough) along with coming up with a correct solution.

Level 4: I can show more than one way to find a solution to the problem.

Level 3: I can describe or illustrate how I arrived at a solution in a way that the reader understands without talking to me.

Level 2: I can find a correct solution to the problem.

Level 1: I can ask questions to help me work toward a solution to the problem

Which of the directions can you follow exactly to construct the line of reflection? Are there any that need clarification?

1 Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 11.54.39 AM

2 Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 11.54.57 AM 3 Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 11.53.18 AM

Students wrote first and then constructed their lines of reflection. I used the Class Capture feature of TI-Nspire Navigator to watch. We’ve spent longer on this task in the past, but this year, I only had about 5 minutes for a whole class discussion. Whose work would you select for the whole class to see?

4 Screenshot 2015-08-27 09.54.16

We started with Kaelon’s construction.

5 Screenshot 2015-08-27 09.57.21

How is Holly’s construction different? Can you tell what Holly did?

6 Screenshot 2015-08-27 09.57.12

How is Phillip’s different? Can you tell what he did?

7 Screenshot 2015-08-27 09.57.06

We are well on our way towards learning how to “describe or illustrate a solution in a way that the reader understands without talking to me”, as the journey continues …

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2015 in Angles & Triangles, Geometry, Rigid Motions

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Reflected Triangles + #ShowYourWork

  1. katonims129

    September 8, 2015 at 6:59 pm

    Love this post! I find that I am really having to reign in my expectations for #showyourwork as we start this year. I have to celebrate where they are NOW and not fret over the progress they need to make. Do you feel the same way at the beginning of the year?

     
    • jwilson828

      September 10, 2015 at 5:40 am

      Hi, Kato! I absolutely feel the same way! It’s also challenging for me to try not to push too much to learn at the beginning. I have to make myself take one practice or process at a time so as not to overwhelm!

       

Leave a Reply

 
